LOEB: Going on a trip – into a fandom, sort of

After taking a week off of the League, the prompts are back with: Take a trip to anywhere in pop culturedom. What fictional town, time, or world would you want to visit? Aka possibly the hardest question to date. I read way to much fantasy/sci-fi, so to figure out where to go I sat down and looked at my book shelf. HUGE mistake. Instantly there were too many ideas (Long partial list at the end of the post, wont bore those who aren’t into lists).

I ultimately had to follow Mr. Potter and go to school. I love the old Wizarding School of J.K. Rowling’s creation. If I could visit Hogwarts (and Hogsmeade) that would be amazing. Whether I tried to get points by throwing stuff through Moaning Myrtle or try to earn them for my house as we compete for the cup. Through thousands of pages Rowling spun a web that lay a firm foundation for those who have imaginations to leap from room to room, forever envisioning what goes on at Hogwarts when Harry and Company aren’t there.

I’d love to be stuck in literary limbo there. This may sound weird, but come with me on this tangent (or skip to the end of the paragraph). We did this play in high school called Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead (by Tom Stoppard). That play follows the characters of Rosencrantz and and Guildenstern through their part in Hamlet. However, rather than inventing where there were in the story (for instance having tea with one another) we follow the characters into limbo. A state where they no longer truly exist, they just wait, until it’s time for them to be important to Hamlet’s story again. Now unlike these two, who were in a void, I’d want to be in Hogwarts. To just go out of my own story for a spell and have all the time in the world to traverse the trick stair cases or wander the halls. It’d obviously be a magical experience.

The best part about visiting Hogwarts are all the layers to the grounds. You have the school itself, then the permitted grounds (green houses, Quidditch pitch, etc), then the restricted sections (forbidden forests, tunnels out of the school, etc) but you’d also get to go to Hogsmeade. An all magical town with an awesome joke shop and candy store. When I was a little kid my family would take vacation out to visit family friends in Montana. In the town where the family lived there was this candy store that we were madly in love with. I’m pretty sure we got a jaw breaker every year, and every year it took us weeks to finish the thing. Of course that made it the best purchase, it lasted longer than the vacation. When I imagine Honeydukes I imagine that candy store, only on crack. Of course I’d have to finish my time in the village with a trip to The Three Broomsticks for a swig of butter beer before heading back home. (As a side note, I had a version of butter beer made of cream soda with a dash of rum and a dash of butter extract – if memory serves – it was oddly good. I’ll have to make it again for the Halloween season (which is the last time I had it).)

To follow other league member’s visits check out the master list, other vacation options include joining an otter in a band or check out a pretty interesting hotel room. Other members are visiting Q’s lab, Eternia, Gotham, Goodwill Haunting makes a roadtrip of it, Hill Valley, Jurassic Park, Zion, Paris Opera House (loved how they chose where to go!), the Power Broker, and Jathniel (like me) had many ideas.

Anyway, that’s my choice, Harry Potter – what a shock. (Although some might have assumed I’d stick with Sherlock or the Doctor)

Until next time ~ Q

Other options that flooded my brain:

  • 221B Baker Street-Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (I’ve actually been, there’s a museum. Although the real one was supposedly re-numbered because so many people wanted to see the real place where the character lived)
  • Asteroid B-612-Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (the caged flower, with the volcanos that need to be tended)
  • Axis Institute-Catherine Jinks (With courses in basic lying, pure evil, manipulation, misinformation and mutation it’d be a school that’d always keep you on your toes)
  • Belesse Casle-Vivian Vande Velde (Not sure if that’s the name of it or not, but I’d love to take a stroll with Oliver the Cat)
  • Camelot (of Arthurian legend)
  • Camp Calamitas-J.I. Greco (Zombies anyone?)
  • Camp Half-Blood (or New Rome)-Rick Riordan (I’ve been to both Athens and Rome and I’ve always been interested in the mythology. I must go to these camps)
  • City of Progress/Freelan- James Patterson & Gabrielle Charbonnet
  • Florin/Guilder-William Goldman (and the cliffs of INSANITY)
  • Giant Peach-Roald Dahl
  • Green Gables-Lucy Maud Montgomery
  • G.R.O.S.S. club house-Bill Watterson (Oh to be a fly on the wall when Calvin and Hobbes got in a fight about rule changes or decrees)
  • Haven
  • Heart Queendom of Wonderland-Frank Beddor
  • Highbury-Jane Austen
  • Hotel Dolphin-Stephen King (despite the likelihood of death, I need to know what is wrong with that room!)
  • Isle of Berk-Cressida Cowell (I want my own pet dragon!)
  • Illyria-William Shakespeare
  • Lyra’s World-Philip Pullman (Only so I could see my soul represented as an animal. When things are only theoretical, you can interpret them or explain them in so many ways. When it becomes physical, it gets harder. For instance it’d be harder to explain away why people call you a snake when one is with you always, showing others what you are)
  • Kingdom of Wisdom-Norton Juster (I’d want to skip any feasts though, and I’d need a quick trip to the Island of Conclusions)
  • Middle-Earth-J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Midlands-Terry Gookind
  • Narnia-C.S. Lewis
  • Neptune High (I could have totally been a Watson to Veronica’s Sherlock)
  • Neverland-J.M. Barrie
  • Oz-L. Frank Baum
  • Panem-Suzanne Collins (post the second revolution, that way I could look in the history books/old magazines)
  • Pemberley-Jane Austen
  • Pern-Anne McCaffrey (see Isle of Berk)
  • Shiz University-Gregory Maguire
  • Sleepy Hollow-Washington Irving
  • Stormhold-Neil Gaiman
  • Storybrook (I’d probably be stuck there having been the servant of some fluffy princess…or maybe I am stuck in a cursed town…Storybrook-Story City…it’s all so obvious now)
  • The T.A.R.D.I.S. (through all of space and time)
  • Troy-Homer (Was she really that beautiful, the face that launched a thousand ships)
  • Uglyville-Scott Westerfeld (or New Pretty Town. Uglyville has shenanigans and NPT has killer parties)
  • Uriel-Madeleine L’Engle (or the star watching rock throughout A Swiftly Tilting Planet)
  • Vincent Plum Bail Bonds-Janet Evanovich
  • Warehouse 13 (I never forget a face – obviously that means I have a secret ability that would work well at the warehouse)
  • Wayside School-Louis Sachar
  • Winterfell-George R.R. Martin (How big are dire wolves, or is it all hyperbole)
  • Wonderland-derived from the SyFy mini series Alice
  • Wonderland-Lewis Carrol (Tea with the Hatter and Hare is a must on this visit)
  • Wonka Factory-Roald Dahl (I wonder what the lyrics would be to my song as the Oompa Loompas carted me off)
  • Xavier’s school for gifted youngsters (If I got a power/ability to go with it)

13 thoughts on “LOEB: Going on a trip – into a fandom, sort of

    • Oh I agree, I meant to visit Panem after the second revolution. That way I could learn about all the stuff in history books and look at all the fashion in old magazines. I think, from an archeological stand, it’d be fascinating.

Leave a Reply

