Tags

, , , , , , , ,

From the top left corner clockwise: Pumpkin Fluff topping on top of pumpkin loaf, pumpkin poppers, honey cakes

From the top left corner clockwise: Pumpkin Fluff topping on top of pumpkin loaf, pumpkin poppers, honey cakes

As promised, the recipes from last week. Enjoy!

Honey Cakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp all spice
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 1 tsp lemon extract
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

Directions:

  1. preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease a cookie sheet
  2. mix eggs and honey
  3. sift flour, baking soda, cinnamon, all spice and nutmeg together in separate bowl
  4. mix two mixtures together adding almonds, lemon extract and salt
  5. roll dough onto a floured surface to 1/4″ thickness, cut with cookie cutter and place on prepped cookies sheet
  6. bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown

Original recipe from The Wholesome Junk Food Cookbook.

This was my first time cooking with honey (not counting the fail that was the fudge that I also attempted the same day, so I don’t really count that). So now I know that honey can be used for things other than toast. Yeah learning experiences! Other one from that day, don’t use a paring knife to open nutmeg. I had used the tip to pry the little shaker tab thing on another spice, but I got exasperated with it not working and decided to use it vertically and just press down. Mistake, cut right through the bottom of the container, I did get it open though. I take accident prone to a whole new level. Also, I had these little cakes with jam on them for breakfast, fantastic. I’m not sure if I made them correctly or not, but they were really really dense. But eaten the way I did, the seemed like the perfect breakfast food. Especially with a cup of tea.

Pumpkin Fluff

Ingredients:

  • 1 (16 oz) can pumpkin
  • 1 (1 1/2 oz) box sugar-free instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 1 (8 ounce) container cool whip free
  • pumpkin spice (to taste)

Directions:

  1. combine all ingredients in order
  2. chill for 2 hours

Another pinterest discovered recipe which led me to the Recipe Diaries.

Pumpkin Poppers

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. allspice
  • 1/8 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 12 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used almond)

For Coating

  • melted butter
  • sugar
  • cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray tins with non-stick cooking spray. The original directions called for mini-muffin tins, but I didn’t have any so I decided to use regular muffin tins as well a 9x5x3 loaf pan.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, salt and spices in a bowl. Whisk until well combined.
  3. In second bowl mix oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, pumpkin, and milk. Pour in flour mixture and mix until just combined.
  4. In attempt to still make cute little poppers I only partially filled the muffin tins. I made 12 ‘poppers’. I baked the rest of the dough in the loaf pan.
  5. Bake for 10-12 minutes.
  6. Melt butter in small bowl. Since I was only going over 12 ‘poppers’ I melted about 2 tablespoons. Mix sugar and cinnamon in separate bowl.
  7. Allow poppers to cool for a few minutes.
  8. Coat poppers lightly in butter and then roll them in sugar.

I found the original/directions recipe via pinterest which led me to Just The Little Things.

More of the 41 Days of Celebration coming soon, check back all month long for updates! ~ Q

