Tags

, , , , , ,

Today’s Daily Post: If there was a fountain of youth, would you drink the water?

Short answer: No, I don’t think I would.

Longer explanation: I shudder to think of living my entire life as a teenager (or youth). Don’t get me wrong, being a teen is a blast, but I often look back on those years with an eye roll. Everything seems so high stakes and is filled with drama. WHAT? I don’t have a date for prom, I’m just going to die… Yeah, don’t miss those days. Each time in my life has given me valuable life lessons to survive the next part. If I never get on to using those lessons, what was the point in going through it?

Then there is living in the world itself. I’m quite certain you have to be a bit mad to survive the crazy world that exists today. And that is just to survive being on it for about 80 years (+/- 20). To cope being apart of it indefinitely you’d have to be full-blown insane. I mean, kudos to those who would have the strength and fortitude to do it, I just know I don’t.

Finally I believe part of the fun of living is that you only have so much time. You’re one day closer to death every time you wake up in the morning, so how is today going to pass so that you wont feel like the time has been wasted? Will you invest some of it with your family? Friends? Into leaving a legacy that will stand even when you no longer do? Without that ending mark each day would take on even less and less significance rather than being the blessing that each day is.

That’s all, to end here is Albert Enistein’s quote, “There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” Can you guess which way I lean? ~ Q

