Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

I can honestly say I wouldn’t be where I am today if it hadn’t been for my art teacher Mrs. Schloerke. Going into my sophomore year of high school I had no clue what a graphic designer was, thanks to her guidance I was able to explore that avenue of art. I knew I wanted a creative field as a career path, but I wasn’t quite savvy enough to be any kind of ‘official’ artist. My drawings, although good for me, would never pay the bills.

A series of watercolored canvases I made for my friend for her 3rd grade class room.

A series of watercolored canvases I made for my friend for her 3rd grade class room.

My teacher started talking to me about graphic design. That year I went and job shadowed at a local design firm and fell in love. The following year I took our graphic design class and yearbook. Senior year I contracted a graphic design 2 class and was editor of the yearbook. I graduated and was accepted into the design school at the local university. After a brief panic attack during freshmen year I was accepted into the graphic design program. The rest, as they say is history.

Ever since she mentioned the existence of the job everything just fell into place. If she hadn’t have told me about it, I have no idea what I’d be doing today. Maybe following in her steps and teaching. That was an avenue I considered for many years. Luckily, since I’m terrible at spelling and should not be around the youths of America with it, she lead me here instead.

