Tags

, , , ,

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover.

No, I wouldn’t. Sure there would be bits I’d like a clue on, but that’s it. If I could just read the chapter titles I’d be satisified, but the whole thing? No. What would the point be in living it if I already knew what was going to happen? Obviously there would still be a point, but half the joy of living is the constant adventure of unwinding the time oneself and discovering the twists and turns. If you knew ahead of time, for instance, that you would have a flat tire in the middle of nowhere Texas and would then meet a friendly British fellow named Gerald R. Snookums the shock factor would be taken right out. Who would expect that? Only someone who read it ahead of time. Oh don’t get me wrong, I’d still be amused by Gerald but the initial shock would be reduced to near nothingness. Also, I’m not 100% sure I want to relive all the glories of the past. They happened once and the occasional reminiscing through the filter of time and memory is enough for me.

Life is an adventure lived one page at a time.

