Setting Sail [Daily Prompt]

“Are you ready?” The junior pilot asked.

Am I ready? That’s the question of the day isn’t it. Today had the potential to make or break not only the company, but could change the world. Well, certainly the world of those we hoped to reach. I must have been mad to take this commission. To fly a solar powered air craft? The last bit sounded so Victorian that it had caught my whimsical attention. Stupid whimsy, some of my worse decisions had been based in whimsy. But that didn’t matter now, all that mattered was getting to those people. The starving and the wounded. If this worked we could save their lives, if I worked. Could I live with their blood on my hands if I failed? There was only one answer. I took a deep breath and closed my eyes to steady myself.

With my resolve set I replied, “On my count. 3…2…1″

__________

Super fun idea from the DP people today. I don’t normally read the news actually, so coming up with my ‘favorite news source’ was tricky, but then I remembered I usually go to the BBC. (In truth I checked their website to see who had actually one the presidency rather than trying to sort through all of the American websites, is that weird?) Anyway a company in Canada is actually developing solar powered air ship, which I must admit sounds really cool. You can read the article (Solar Ship Aims to Soar) for yourself and get actual information.

 

4 thoughts on “Setting Sail [Daily Prompt]

Leave a Reply

