Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

Religion and politics. Two of the touchiest subjects arguably in human history. How many wars have been fought over one of the two subjects (do we recall the crusades?). Yet that doesn’t stop some from spouting their opinions to others. I pretty much always hate it when people bring up politics. More often then not they are just complaining about the current state of affairs, but I’m fully cognizant of the fact that will stay sitting in their chairs at home complaining rather than do anything to try to change it. And why waste the effort? We’ve had decades of anecdotal evidence that people who want to change things often can’t because of procedure/protocol.

That being said it doesn’t make it and less awkward when I am able to deduce your political affiliation before you can leave the store. Time and time again people leave and I need to take a deep breath to dislodge myself from the weight that has been forced onto my shoulders, and is it necessary? All I said was something about the rain being good for crops. How does that garner a diatribe about the national deficit?

In case it isn’t clear then, I agree that discussing politics/religion with people you don’t know isn’t a brilliant idea. It’s better to feel the person out a bit better. If you’re trying to convince them that you’re opinion is right it’s better to know how to phrase things to a certain person, which you can’t know until you’ve gotten to know someone a bit better. Heck, I don’t even share my opinion on where to eat with my family, why would I share something so personal, like my religion, with a total stranger?

