Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Think about the last time you broke a rule (a big one, not just ripping the tags off your pillows). Were you burned, or did things turn out for the best?

I am what one would call a Goody Two-Shoes. Risk taking and rule breaking do not come naturally to me. Perhaps it was being sent to the principals office as a kindergartner, having a principal for a father, being in a hospitalizing accident or watching to many cartoons about characters with a very rigged sense of morality. Whatever the cause the effect has been a pretty average citizen’s life. The only rules I really break are traffic related, like speeding.

The last time I was really speeding was when I was driving with one of my sisters on our way to visit the other up in Minnesota. We were about twenty minutes out when we got pulled over. Out of nowhere some truck head lights turn on, the rest of the vehicle does a u-turn to come up behind us and then the red and blues start flashing. I didn’t even try to deny it. I hadn’t realized I was speeding so much but as soon as the officer asked ‘Do you know why I pulled you over?’ I gave him a sighing/resigned ‘speeding’. ‘That’s right.’ he said. It actually worked out because he let me off with a warning (which was nice considering I was an out-of-state plate and some people believe that those are targeted more than in-state plates).

Warning TicketI feel like he might have been looking for drunk drivers (although it was only 9:30 or so). Before looking at my information he asked where I had been and where I was going. I told him I was coming from Ames on my way to my sister’s. To clarify he asked if I had come straight there, no stopping. When I confirmed he went back to his car and came back with a warning ticket. As my sister and I drove away I was so euphoric that I hadn’t gotten a ticket I had to be extra careful not to speed. I half-joking commented it’d be almost better if he’d have given me the ticket because then I would have for sure been under the rest of the way. Although I’m quite thankful that he didn’t, that’s one hassle I didn’t want to deal with.

That’s it. My big law-breaking moment of the last year. Super risque right? I foolishly forgot about my sister’s love to tattle about insignificant things. A few days later I got an e-mail from my dad alluding to the situation. Family….you just can’t trust them.

