Tags

,

Tell us about something you know you should do . . . but don’t.

See my family more. Not just my immediate family, my extended family as well. I feel such a close knit bond with all of my family but I don’t really see them much. A couple times a year tops. I drive over an hour one way after work once a month just to have dinner with one of my college friends. I should try to see some part of my family monthly, shouldn’t I? However, randomly stopping in to say ‘hi’ isn’t really my style or the norm that has been over two decades in the making. That being said, and this is coincidental, I have attempted to implement weekly dinners with my mom and dad (and sister if she can make it). Last night was our first night and it was a resounding success. There is a certain calm that descends when you gather with the people who have known you since you were born. At least for me there is. Even if the night is crazy and everyone is talking and there are a million things happening at once. (Although to be fair that last sentence more aptly describes the Thanksgiving of my mom’s side of the family that we annually host. Although it’s a fast weekend, and crazy, I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Nor my weekly dinners with my family.) It’s good I’m just a fifteen minute drive away, any more than that and I’d be very lonely indeed. It’s easy to take that distance for granted, but last night reminded me how lucky I am to be able to seem them so easily.

