Pride

When was the last time someone told you they were proud of you?

Although I don’t know if I rely heavily on my pride, it turns out I do have some. Just a few weeks ago my parents told me they were proud of me. As I mentioned in the changes prompt a few weeks ago, I’m trying to be more healthy. Although they recognize that I like my privacy (which is obviously why I blog) my parents did offhandedly tell me they were proud of the changes I’ve been making. It was weird. I know that my parents are always proud of me and love me, it was just different being acknowledged for something I had decided to do without consulting them. What do I mean by that? In school you have the obvious things that people can say ‘You must be proud of Jamie for that’. Getting good grades or going out for extra curriculars (for me that involved speech, parliamentary procedure, club office positions, chorus, etc). All of these my parents had some sort of consulting role in. Now that I’ve been graduated from school for over five years the pride points are less obvious then they were before. Perhaps that’s why when they told me they were proud I was filled with warmth. Or perhaps it was the realization that I wasn’t as lost as I sometimes seem. I don’t ever feel truly lost, but I do feel like I wander about this life a lot. Being reminded that I’m doing okay by an outside source was reassuring. Like I wasn’t crazy and just trying to convince myself that I’m okay. It reminded me that, as J.R.R. Tolkien put it, “Not all who wander are lost.”

3 thoughts on “Pride

Leave a Reply

