[Audio]Book Review: Delirium

Synopsis may be a better term. If you plan on reading Delirium by Lauren Oliver than you may not want to read this, slight spoilers and such, although I try my best to be pretty vague.

Anyway, I just finished reading Delirium, well listening actually. I’m an avid audiobooker. When I started the book I didn’t realize that it was part of a trilogy (my bad) which makes the casual pacing of the book make more sense. I’m not sure where the story will lead but I thoroughly enjoyed the opening bit. The worst part was when I had about 2 hours of the book left (so a handful of chapters) and I suddenly realized that things were too perfect. Well as perfect as they can be in a dystopian culture. Anyway, Lena had finally figured out she loved Alex, he loved her and things were going fine. I had to stop listening for a few days because I knew, somehow, that it wasn’t going to end well, particularly for Alex. How right I was. With 3 minutes left they were finally torn away from each other. What the what. That’s when I checked and discovered that it was the opening of a trilogy. The last installment doesn’t come out until next year. Even though I can read the second now I may have to wait for the third. I swear second books have a habit of ending in such a way that I really need to read the third immediately after (Hunger Games and Heroes of Olympus for two examples).

I remember in those last two hours when she is finally caught after confiding in her best friend fearing that Hana had tattled on her. I was pretty upset about that, but I should have known better than to allow those fleeting thoughts run through my head. My bad, so in that instance I was wrong, and I’m glad I was. Hana (in the end) was a reliable friends. She did get a bit shaky for awhile though.

Now to decide what to read next. Should I start a new book/audiobook or finish one of the handful of books I’m in the middle of reading. I fully plan on having a hibernation weekend at my place. Reading may play an intricate part of how I spend the time. Either that or cleaning or cooking or sewing. I have a laundry list of things I probably should do, but nothing is quite the same as reading an interesting book.

Until next time~Q

Leave a Reply

