Movie Review: Abbott & Costello Meet Frankenstein

One of the things I like so much about this movie is that to this day (after rewatching it dozens of times) it makes me laugh. So many great lines that don’t rely too much on cultural context to be funny. Also it plays on the nostalgia of a different time. (Where sometimes guys tucked their ties into their high pants).

We took a moment to freeze and get into character before the kids arrived.

Anyway like every time I’ve watched this flick it was great and a great way to top of a wonderful evening. We had our trick-or-treat night last night in town (in case you’ve missed me mentioning it one of the previous posts…it’s consumed my life up until tonight). My co-workers and I went all out and dressed up as gnomes, which to be honest did scare some kids. ‘Scare’ might be the wrong word, but they were apprehensive (my manager’s kid wouldn’t walk up to her the first time the came into the office).

I wasn’t sure how successful the night would be, it being the first year we had the event. There were over 150 kids and may places ran out of candy (and by extension Dollar General, but that could be everyone in the town needing back up). All in all it was a great night and I think everyone was pleased with the outcome.

Oh, also I got to have a Doctor Who geek out. A guy was dressed up as the fourth Doctor. As soon as he came in a laughed and gave him props which made him equally happy. Shockingly I was the only one that had recognized his costume. Then his son told me about how he had Dalek cupcakes at his birthday party (he is not afraid of them). That is how I want my kids to be, life might be tough for them if they don’t share my love.

Until tomorrow (with the final Halloween movie double-feature!) ~ Q

During Movie Thoughts:

  • “I’m a union man, I only work 16 hour days.”
    “A union man only works 8 hour days.”
    “I belong to two unions” – Gold
  • Dracula going in and out of the coffin is clearly just messing with Wilbur. So mean.
  • Yes, be afraid of Wilbur, not the mannequin holding a butcher’s knife.
  • Why are Chick and Wilbur staying in a hotel? Something I’ve never understood.
  • Chick is such a joker, pretending to be hypnotized. Also so mean too, hitting Wilbur.
  • I saw what I saw when I saw it
  • Oh, everyone is trying to use Wilbur…poor guy.
  • Can we bring back the ‘[insert name] sends me’
  • “Yours had teeth”
    “Did you see that tooth”
    “Yes, I happened to see it”
    “She had so much bridge work every time I kissed her I had to pay toll”
    – Such witty lines
  • Why would you answer the phone in a stranger’s house (It’s Scream 2 all over again)
  • I really want a moat in my basement (or waterway access)
  • Joan Raymond, you are not sneaky
  • Your will is NOT as strong as Dracula
  • “Professor, do you understand women?”
    “I don’t even try.” – smart man
  • Why the bats in the eyes, so weird.
  • Why is it that werewolves always have to acknowledge the full moon before their transformation is triggered? Just don’t look.
  • McDougal just can’t get anything right
  • First hit with a chair, then thrown out a window, Sandra is having a rough night
  • Hehehe, barricading a door that opens out, love it!
  • That is the most winding circular house, ever
  • Diving grab for bat with amazing splash effect!
  • Wilbur, why does it take you so long to untie the boat? Silly man
  • Best way to end a movie ever – with Vincent Price’s disembodied voice. Good choice
One thought on “Movie Review: Abbott & Costello Meet Frankenstein

Leave a Reply

