Movie Double Feature: Scream 3 & Sleepy Hallow

Yesterday conspired against me to make it so I couldn’t get this posted. Mainly in the fact that my alarm didn’t go off until 15 minutes before I was due at work. Safe to say I didn’t make it on time.

Anyway the last of the halloween double features! It’s been fun but 3 double features in 4 days is too much. I almost couldn’t watch the third scream movie because during trick-or-treat the night before a kid had walked in with the ghost face outfit. It honestly made my heart skip a beat before me remembering 1) it’s a movie 2) the human in that outfit is about 4 feet nothing 3) i could totally take him out. So I went ahead with the plan.

Scream 3 had some interesting twists and turns. As trite as it is to have Randy ‘come back’ via video he had made I do like hearing him spell out the rules of movies. Too bad he didn’t do that for all movie types. However we can extrapolate. Romantic Comedies: person A meets person B | person A is hiding something | person B eventually finds out | person A tries to win B back | person B leaves anyway | something intense happens to B showing them that A really does love them | A & B live happily ever after. It may not be exact but a lot of movies can fit in that mold. Which is why we sometimes like them. The reassurance that A & B will end up in the end.

Wow I digressed pretty hard. I countered Scream 3 with Sleepy Hallow. I love the stark imagery that Tim Burton movies have. The blacks/whites/dark colors juxtaposed the vivid red makes for interesting dreams if you aren’t careful. The thing I admire every time about this movie is the costuming. The patterns are amazing. I always love Mrs. Van Tassel’s dress the first time we see her, it’s an orange dress with black swirls and screams Halloween. Although Johnny Depp doesn’t take on the typical Ichabod appearance (see video below) he does capture his more cowardly essence, so in that, is true to character.

I’m short on time so to end this post a didly by Mr. Bing Crosby

Until next time ~ Q

  • I did not remember that the movie began with Cotton
  • “There’s no reason to presume that Cotton’s death had anything to do with this movie, is there?”
    “He was making a movie called Stab. He was stabbed.”
    I just fell in love with you character
  • Again with the crazy colored suits Gale?
  • Dewey knows her waaaay to well. “You bought me this purse, didn’t you?”
  • JAY AND SILENT BOB!!!
  • “Psychos can’t kill what they can’t find.” Way to throw the gauntlet
  • Closet full of scream costumes – creepiest thing ever
  • “ten more murders and we can publish a calendar” – seriously, love this character “this is the scene where you come with us”
  • Patrick Warbruton!
  • aaaaand the psycho found you Sid, sorry
  • Dewdrop….so cute
  • I love the faxing…it’s so creative
  • “when it’s a threat you’ll know it” so tough”
  • The Randy thing, just seems so trite
  • “What are you doing”
    “Being Gale Weathers, what are you doing”
    “I am Gale Weathers”
  • Is him grabbing you from your bedroom window not instil the fact that it’s a fake house? The front door is NOT secure.
  • “Oh I forgot, happy birthday Roman!”
    “Yes, life isn’t tragic enough”
  • Oh Detective McDreamy, how insightful you are
  • Way to check under the mask Roman, smart guy…of course you have nothing to fear
  • Leaving the voice mimicker out of your sight is just dumb
  • I never noticed Sidney wearing her college boyfriend’s greek letters before. I like that touch.
  • Head shots people, you must learn to take head shots
  • They are taking their sibling rivalry a little too far
  • I like Gale and Dewey’s oddly magnified voices…totally makes him trip out
  • Third movie in the trilogy (well quadilogy or whatever they call it since there were four) and the hero finally actually stabs someone
  • HEAD SHOT
  • Why do they insist on dragging in the Gale-Dewey love story?!?

Sleepy Hallow

  • I sympathize with your desire to flee, but perhaps staying in a driver-less coach is preferable than discovering what made the driver headless. The horses aren’t going to run themselves off the road, they (unlike you) have an ounce of self-preservation
  • “We have not yet determined the cause of death”
    “When they are found in the river the cause of death is drowning” – thank you captain obvious
  • You are not welcomed to Sleepy Hallow
  • Perhaps if you don’t wish to get caught, don’t make out by the front door
  • Wouldn’t you just go around the circling men who are clearly playing a game
  • “We have not heard your name”
    “I have not given it” – rude Ichabod. You interrupted the party in the first place
  • Out go the torches, out goes your life
  • If you see the lookout post leveled, wouldn’t you think there was a murder (or something a foot) long before the next morning?
  • “You have moved the body”
    “yes”
    “you must never move the body”
    “why”
    “because” – yes, clearly you win that battle of wits
  • “We are dealing with a madman” please ignore the fact that I’m covered in blood. I’m no madman.
  • your talisman did not protect you…sorry magistrate
  • I want to pit myself against a murdering ghost, perhaps I’ll find one in the creepy basement at work.
  • Ichabod Crane is equal parts courageous and cowardly…okay maybe not equal parts. A dash or two more coward perhaps
  • “To the Hallow and back he rides. I see him, I smell the blood on him.”
    “Do you.” – so conversational. like they are having tea.
  • I hate to break this to you Ichabod but that red stuff squirting on you from the tree is not sap.
  • Did you not read the sign? It said to knock before entry. Then again you don’t have eyes, perhaps you didn’t see it?
  • “Perhaps you are a witch…because you have bewitched me.” – smooth character
  • “Spider! Kill it, no stomp it!” – how I feel around all spiders and insects
  • “There is something under the bed.”
    “Here help me move it.”
    “No, I mustn’t, you do it.” Once again, so mature
  • “Then you are bewitched by reason” –
    “and am beaten down by it!”
  • “It is a hard lesson for a hard world and you best learn it”
  • Villainy wears many masks, none so as dangerous as virtue.”
  • “Return the coach”
    “What”
    “Turn around now!” (just speak plainly silly Ichabod)
  • Worst step-mom ever
  • Christopher Walken you are a gem
  • How do I get a part where I only yell ‘hya’ and scream? Best gig ever (reminds me of a play I did in high school where I had a monologue in Elizabethan English. every night right before I went on stage I’d have to rehearse it like 50 times to make sure I could say it right on stage. Def. didn’t memorize those lines.)
  • And our three heroes lived happily ever after, while Masbath carries all of the bags. He’s a sturdy little thing.
Leave a Reply

