Christmas Cooking: Fantastic Fudge

FudgeOh Fudge, how fun it is and so varying. I made 5 kinds on the Ninth, only technically two of them were from the same original recipe, I just altered it a bit.

Simple Fudge: Take 1

SimpleFudgeCompliments of Better Homes and Gardens I didn’t make too many changes, mainly I didn’t make my first batch with nuts. There is something to be said about the name: Simple. It may be the name of it, and it was simple, but more importantly even though it may have been more complicated then the three ingredient mint, I think it was my favorite version. The consistency was really nice and the possibilities of variation are endless.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 – 5 oz can evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 cups small marshmallows
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

  1. Line a 8x8x2 baking pan with foil, butter lining and set aside
  2. Butter sides of a large saucepan and combine sugar, evaporated milk, and butter. (I put the butter in first and turned on the heat to let the butter melt a bit before adding the next two ingredients). Cook and stir over medium-high heat until mixture boils. Reduce heat to medium and continue cooking, stirring constantly, for 6 minutes. Don’t get sidetracked and decide to eat a clementine during this time, you may burn the fudge the mixture a little if you do.
  3. Remove saucepan from heat and add remaining ingredients. Mix until marshmallows and chocolate have melted and everything is fully combined.
  4. Spread fudge evenly in prepared pan. I placed mine in the fridge for twenty minutes before scoring into squares. Cover and chill for 2 to 3 (or until firm).
  5. Once firm use foil to lift out of pan and fully cut fudge (if you didn’t earlier. I had so it pulled apart rather easily).
  6. Store tightly covered in fridge for up to 1 month.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Fudge

CookieDoughFudgeI was surprised that this one had flour in it, that really threw me. Also, this was the recipe that required me to nearly burn my face off to check the thermometer. Also, mine did not look like the one on the blog I found the recipe but that’s okay (obviously).

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup half-and-half (original recipe called for using 1/4 cup milk and 3/4 cup heavy cream)
  • 1 Tbs corn syrup
  • 3/4 tsp  sea salt
  • 2 Tbs unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Spray an 8×8 inch  baking dish with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. In a 3-quart saucepan, combine the sugars, cream, milk, corn syrup and salt.
  3. Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the mixture reaches 242 degrees (ie the soft-ball stage).
  4. Remove from heat and stir in the butter, vanilla, and flour.
  5. Adding the flour made it crumbly so I skipped some of the other directions, poured it into a dish and covered with chocolate chips, then immediately popped it in the fridge to stop them from melting too much.
  6. Let set for at least two hours, cut into squares and store in an airtight container.

Funfetti Cake Batter Fudge

FunfettiFudgeI altered the recipe, or rather the directions from the original. Mainly because I have terrible luck when it comes to microwaving chocolate. I have a hard enough time not burning the chocolate when I’m constantly watching it in a pot. Anyway yeah, if you want microwave directions check out the original post.

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3.5 cups white chocolate chips
  • 3 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 tsp Almond Extract
  • Rainbow Sprinkles

Directions:

  • Pour milk and white chocolate into pan and heat until chips are melting and blend both until smooth.
  • Add vanilla and almond and combine thoroughly.
  • In the original directions
  • Immediately add vanilla and almond and combine thoroughly.
  • Transfer to an aluminum-foil lined baking pan. Sprinkle fudge generously with sprinkles. Put in refrigerator until set.
  • Once set, cut into cubes (and peel off foil). Store leftover in an airtight container in a cool place.

3 Ingredient Fudge

3 Ingredient MintLikewise with the funfetti I adapted this one to be a stove-top over microwave venture. Backwards huh? Usually people want to go from stove to microwave not the other way around. Original recipe from Made (I like the header)

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 14 oz can condensed milk
  • 1 – 14 oz package of semi sweet chocolate chips.
  • 1 – 10 oz package of Andes mint chips
  • Optional garnish: Crushed Candy Cane (I only used 1 but kind of wish I had used more because I only had enough to cover half of the fudge)

Directions:

  1. In pot combine chocolate, Andes mint chips and condensed milk; mix
  2. heat until mixture is smooth
  3. pour in to lined pan (I poured some, then added some food coloring, did NOT fully mix it in, I liked the marble look)
  4. sprinkle with garnish and pop in fridge to cool
  5. once set, cut into pieces and store in cool place

Simple Fudge: Take 2 – Simple Mint Fudge

SimpleMintLike I said earlier the possibilities for variation are endless. The original post had a peanut butter option, and I was going to go that route but apparently I decided to make more mint stuff. I had planned on using both vanilla and mint (hence both are in the photo) but instead just substituted mint for vanilla. I also added more Andes mints then what I pictured. I had peppermint Andes chips that I topped the fudge with once I was done. I decided to use all white chips and then added a few drops of food coloring to make a swirled white/pink fudge.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 – 5 oz can evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 cups small marshmallows
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 teaspoon mint extract
  • Chopped candy cane

Directions:

  1. Line a 8x8x2 baking pan with foil, butter lining and set aside
  2. Butter sides of a large saucepan and combine sugar, evaporated milk, and butter. (I put the butter in first and turned on the heat to let the butter melt a bit before adding the next two ingredients). Cook and stir over medium-high heat until mixture boils. Reduce heat to medium and continue cooking, stirring constantly, for 6 minutes. Don’t get sidetracked and decide to eat a clementine during this time, you may burn the fudge the mixture a little if you do.
  3. Remove saucepan from heat and add remaining ingredients. Mix until marshmallows and chocolate have melted and everything is fully combined.
  4. Spread fudge evenly in prepared pan. At this time I sprinkled the fudge with chopped candy cane. I placed mine in the fridge for twenty minutes before scoring into squares. Cover and chill for 2 to 3 (or until firm).
  5. Once firm use foil to lift out of pan and fully cut fudge (if you didn’t earlier. I had so it pulled apart rather easily).
  6. Store tightly covered in fridge for up to 1 month.
Leave a Reply

