Fresh Vegetable and Chicken Soup (without the Chicken)

Over the weekend I tested my prowess at making soup. As it turns out I can achieve a good result. Well, so long as it is a broth based soup not a cream based one. I have yet to attempt that. There are just too many variables to mess up with that tosh for my current level of confidence in cooking. Anyway, everything was fairly smooth sailing. I had read the ingredients before going to the store and was sure everything was on hand. When It came down to cook though I was prepping all the ingredients and had a bit of a shock. I went to the freezer to get the chicken I had planned to use up and saw that it was dried out or freezer burned. This rose a peculiar dilemma. I did not wish to go to the store just for two cups worth of chicken. I did not think I could quite salvage the chicken in its current state. I did not want to ruin the rest of the soup by using inferior chicken. In the end I decided to just omit the chicken all together and making it a completely vegetarian soup. I probably should have continued my alterations to add in beans or some other protein source. But I have thus enjoyed the end result so am fine with having a perhaps somewhat nutritionally inferior soup (I guess a saving grace is that it is fairly wholesome and low-cal). “Be ever flexible” that’s my kitchen motto (like last week when I made a dish of saute onions and apples and served it on a bed of couscous because both items in question were nearing the end of their optimal produce window).

Until next time ~ Q

Fresh Veggie SoupIngredients:

      • 3 tbsp olive oil
      • 1 onion, chopped
      • 1/2 head of broccoli, chopped
      • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
      • 1 pepper, chopped
      • Salt to taste
      • Pepper to taste
      • 4 cups chicken broth


    Directions:

  • Heat oil in a large quart boiler over medium heat.
  • Add the onions and cook until soft, about five minutes.
  • Add broccoli, carrots and peppers, cook about four minutes.
  • Add salt, pepper and broth and bring to simmer.
  • Cook until vegetables are tender, about 25 minutes.

Leave a comment