Best Cooking Fail Ever [well, at least to date]

SandwichSo it’s been a long week. Not sure why, maybe it’s the waiting for Spring to finally get here, the random snow storm that began the week or not being able to remember what nights I have volleyball games. However no problem is so great that a good meal can’t curb the dragging hours. Enter my biggest cooking failure to date: Chicken ‘N’ Dumplings crock pot style.

It sounded so simple. Precook the chicken before putting it in a crock pot. Add a couple kinds of soup, cut up Grand’s biscuits and let it cook for 4-6 hours. Alas the best laid plans go to waste. Those biscuits would not cook. I started the crock in the morning thinking it’d be ready by noon. I come back for lunch, no such luck. I think letting it stew for the afternoon may work out. Again I am proven wrong. When I get home I turn up the heat and let it cook for yet two more hours. Maybe my awesome crock pot isn’t conducive to cooking biscuits but they never got cooked. They stayed gooey and not in a good way. What to do? I had banked on that for a few meals but now what? It seemed like and uber waste to pitch everything when only the biscuits were undesirable.

A plan was hatched. Brilliant in it’s simplicity. Take out the biscuits and eat the remainder. I know, I blow myself away with my genius. Although the first time I had it I just hate it as a thick soup the second time I poured it over bread and it was the best thing ever. In fact having it in a bread bowl has saved it from being pitched from the recipe book. I’m not saying I’ll cook it again any time soon (the wounds of failure haven’t yet healed) but in general it was just too tasty to throw out.

Chicken 'N' Dumplings IngredientsIngredients (from the recipe I attempted)

  • 2 cups cooked chicken
  • 1 can (10 3/4 ounces) condensed cream of mushroom soup, undiluted
  • 1 can (10 3/4 ounces) condensed cream of chicken soup, undiluted
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 4 teaspoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 can refrigerated buttermilk biscuits

Recipes

  1. Mix all ingredients, except biscuits, in a slow cooker.
  2. Cut biscuits into quarters and gently stir into mixture.
  3. Cover; cook on LOW 4 to 6 hours
Leave a Reply

