Closing Day

New Home

Porch with a swing, new reading spot!

Well the day has arrived and I am quite nervous. I’ll be leaving shortly to officially sign all the papers (or perhaps be told that I’m insane and no, they wont let me buy a house. I’m not sure how these things work). Yesterday I had the final walk through of my house and I must say it’s starting to hit home that this will be my home. I didn’t want to believe it before in case something went wrong, but now that I’m on the threshold all that is left to do is to cross it. The ‘to-do’ list for this weekend is fairly basic. Photograph everything (to have proper ‘before’ photos) and then clean it all. Once we get that done we’re going to tape out the basement, marking where we plan to put walls etc. That way when the plumbers and electricians come to give us quotes they can confirm (or alter) that where we will be putting studs will work for the final vision. (Which as a surprise to me, the plumber will be stopping by on Saturday-can’t wait!) The final item on the agenda is to get test paint and do test areas for the upstairs rooms. Lucky it’s a small house since I seem determined to paint the entire thing (except the outside, it’s a brilliant red).

Although I wouldn’t recommend staying out late before the start of a warrior weekend it did help me stay distracted last night. I had my first sand volleyball game of the season (third set of games for the team, first time I could attend personally). To say I was overly excited and unable to appropriately channel that energy would be a understatement. I was just so excited to see my teammates again! I quickly fell back into my roll of team jester. I am lucky that they seem willing to put up with my antics since, wow, my playing was especially erratic last night. Hopefully I’ll have reined it in a pinch for next week’s match-ups. (We won our first official game and the second set was forfeited so we won by default. However we found some random people to play instead and also won that game. We were on fire!) After the games I then met up with some of my theater peeps and we ended up going to karaoke. Although I lacked the courage to go up and sing myself, it was still a fun evening and again, a great diversion from today.

However, I guess I can only distract myself for so long. Now the day has arrived and it’s time to get started. Let the work begin on the new home! A new chapter of my life begins today, I suppose. Scary, but true.

Until next time ~ Q

One thought on “Closing Day

Leave a Reply

