Thirty Day Challenge: Day Two

Day Two: Something I feel strongly about

Hmmm, opinions are dangerous, aren’t they? Especially once they are written down and are forever out there. At the disposal for anyone to use as they see fit, but if we don’t stand for something we’ll fall for anything, no? What do I feel strongly about? I suppose what comes to mind today would be equality. Everyone (no matter their race, gender, relationship status, sexual preference or whatever we try to divide ourselves by) should be given the same opportunity as everyone else, if the so wish it. I know I don’t really have a leg to stand on coming from Iowa where it is fairly homogenous, but maybe that has made me who I am today. As I’ve encountered people who are different than I am (whether they are gay, Hispanic or even male) I’ve always treated them as I would treat a neighbor or colleague. (I would say ‘treat them as anyone else’, but lets face it, if I treat them like family or close friends they may be frightened by my craziness, and I don’t want to scare people.)  I don’t subscribe to this nonsense that people are better than one another purely because they are born a certain way.

You cannot help being a female, and I should be something of a fool were I to discount your talents merely because of their housing’. ― Sherlock Holmes from The Beekeeper’s Apprentice

You can’t change your genes, and really, who cares what alleles you happen to have compared to Bob down the street? I don’t think I will ever be able to understand that line of reasoning, no matter whose shoes I put myself into, it’s just too irrational.

Until tomorrow
~ Q

Previous 30 Day Challenge Posts:
Five Ways to Win My Heart

14 thoughts on “Thirty Day Challenge: Day Two

Leave a Reply

