35 Days of Celebration: 17

35 Days of Celebration: Day 17Today was a lovely day. I spent a good deal of time with my sister Bailey. Together we headed to Des Moines for dinner and a show, nothing says ‘holiday spirit’ like Zombie Burger – right? Only joking, however the show we went to was very holiday! Luckily White Christmas has been in Des Moines the past two weeks and we went to the matinee this afternoon. It was difficult, at first, to not constantly compare it to the classic movie. However in the end I reminded myself that, like books turned to movies, they are two separate forms and to treat them as such.

Shoo with your pointy heads. Why are you always under boot?― North

North and I have similar ‘problems,’ elves are his; a cat with an affinity for cuddling with feet, while they are walking, is mine.

White Christmas GuardiansWhen I returned home for the evening I painted a bit of the basement. I also prepped some kringla, tomorrow I plan to see if making the Scandinavian treat is inherently in my blood or not. I rounded out the evening relaxing while I watched Rise of the Guardians. Now the movie takes place a few days before Easter, but since Santa, aka North, is such a central character it’s easy to think of it as a holiday movie. Perhaps all movies with Jack Frost just seem to be holiday movies, despite the fact they take place in the late winter/early spring. Now matter the reason, it was a calming and good way to end a great day.

Until next time
~ Q

35 Days of Celebration 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 & 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 16

One thought on “35 Days of Celebration: 17

Leave a Reply

