2 am, we’ve got to stop meeting like this

I can’t put a finger on when I started having sleepless nights. But it’s been going on long enough that I accept it as a fact of my existence. Did I wake up this much as a child? Or is this something that only started happening when I became an adult? To compound the problem my memory is especially sieve like anyway so I can pinpoint any answers. However I think it’s a problem that has come on, the more I have to think about, the more I wake up. Groundbreaking, right? Usually I just toss and turn until sleep takes me, but tonight was different.

I’m an insomniac, my mind works the night shift.― P. Wentz

This month I became the chair of Story City’s promotion board. We meet once a month and as homework I gave my committee the task of brainstorming new ideas for events we could have in the town. Good news team, your leader isn’t slacking on the job. However, that is why tonight is different. I had an idea, completely half-baked, but what else can you expect from an idea born around one o’clock in the morning? So to ensure I didn’t lose the slight threads of an idea I booted up the laptop, which I had actually brought to my room with me, which actually never happens, and typed up the tendrils of ideas.

What was the idea? I blame the home life on this one. My parents, over the past decade or so, have hosted 8 murder mysteries. (Let’s say 8, I actually have no idea, but they were doing them yearly for a long time – sieve like memory, remember?) I’ve been discussing trying to do this with some of my new friends, continuing the tradition as it were. So what does this have to do with my idea? Murder in the Mainstreet District: A progressive dinner.

Now, already the idea keeps expanding, ebbing and flowing to have different aspects. But what if we could get a murder mystery and enough people that they could act out 5-10 minute scenes in various businesses. Perhaps have them timed that people could go to scenes 1-3 in any order from 5:30-6 and get appetizers while they are there, from 6-6:30 see scenes 4-6 with salads or something – another course, 6:30-7 scenes 7-9 with an entree and then 7-7:30 see the finale After the Thin Manat the local theater. (Here is where the extension of the idea comes from). What if after the finale people went into the courtyard for dessert while the necessary adjustments were made inside and then people, if they wanted, could stay at the theater for an old time who-dunnit movie like one of The Thin Man movies or To Catch A Thief. I guess the evening could get a little long in that perspective, but that would be optional.

I’m not entirely sure if this idea is feasible at all, but at least I have something to pitch to my committee. I have a sneaky suspicion the reason I was struck with thinking about committee stuff on this particular evening was that I have a board meeting (which now that I am chair of my committee I am also on the board for the Chamber) tomorrow morning. Or more specifically in about 5 hours. That’s a bit sad, I guess I should try to get some more sleep, or more brainstorming done. As I look up I can just see the moon now, it’s late indeed.

Until next time
~ Q

Leave a Reply

