Walking the Talk

My mouth get’s me in trouble a lot. Perhaps you’ve heard the expression “My mouth wrote a check that my body can’t cash”. There are several derivations to this (you’ve talked the talk but can you walk the walk?). Well all this happened to me last Wednesday. I was at supper with my friends when one of them asked me if I wanted to do the Gladiator Assault Challenge with him and his team this coming May. Before I could stop myself I heard myself saying yes. When I got home I decided to look up the event to see what I had agreed to. In my head it was a 5k with a few obstacles thrown in for fun. Oh no, it’s a 5-7 mile run with around 30 obstacles. Yeah….

Skip to Friday, exactly 4 months before the race, I decide to change up my newly started (at the beginning of the year) workout plan from using the elliptical to the treadmill. I really don’t like to run. I especially don’t like to run in front of other people. When I ran last summer I did it at 5:30 in the morning on a gravel road so there would be no witnesses. I do not have that luxury this year. (Needless to say I don’t run outside when it’s cold. Getting me to run is difficult enough, I’m not going to do it when it’s so miserable out.) So back to the old ‘Couch to 5k’ plan. Obviously I’ll need to be able to go further than a 5k, but the plan takes 9 weeks and it’s about 17 to the race. I think it will work out just fine. I’m going to be keeping tabs of how far I run (so far it’s 8 miles in 3 workouts) because I’m guessing it’s going to be a ridiculous amount. Well, ridiculous for me.

The good thing about ‘training’ is that I’ve started lifting too. My upper-body strength is very disproportionate to my leg strength. (I wont even start on my abdomen strength, that’s next on the list.) I’m pretty sure my body was not meant for running and I’m a bit uncoordinated to boot. Hopefully over the next four months that will change but change or not I’m committed to seeing this through. I’m oddly excited to face the challenge. Weird, for me, I was never the athlete, perhaps that’s why I’m excited. A new challenge.

Even if you stumble, you’re still moving forward.

Until next time
~ Q

Leave a Reply

