Week One of Summer

As I wrote about last week, I have a rather ambitious summer to do list. Now the first (of about 15) weeks is done and I have actually started/completed some of the things on my list!Sketch Everyday To get myself back in the groove of sketching (despite not being a brilliant artist) I’ve actually managed to keep up with the rather daunting aspect of daily doodles. This week was a busy building week. My mother and I worked until at least 9:30 on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. So my nights got a bit late (because I’m stubborn). We’d get done working on the basement and clean up. I’d get myself ready for bed and then I would start my ritual.

I attribute last week's apparent theme of hearts (because I am not really a heart girl) to the fact that the first night of sketching I watched Snow White and the Huntsman.

I attribute last week’s apparent theme of hearts (because I am not really a heart girl) to the fact that the first night of sketching I watched Snow White and the Huntsman.

First I would sketch, then answer the days question (last year my friend got me a journal that lasts for five years and has a different question for each day of the year with room for five answers. You go through it day by day and then the next year answer the same question – that way you can kind of see how things change over the course of five years), and then I would read about three chapters in my book. Combined with the fact that I have issues sleeping too much past the sun rising meant I was fairly tired last week. Totally worth it.

Nap in Hammock_2This weekend, like I think most of the weekends will be, was a back-to-back success of accomplishing things on my list. On Saturday I was up early (even on the weekends I have issues sleeping in) to prep some things for landscaping. My family was due early to help remove five giant bushes in front of my house. The demolition was fairly quick and after a semi-late lunch we were done. Not inclined to do much of anything else I embraced the notion of napping in the great outdoors.

Do YogaThat brings me to today. This morning I decided to give yoga a go. I had access to a dvd and although it wasn’t quite what I was expecting (since it was almost a cardio-yoga blend) I did quite enjoy it. Just might need to be added to my Sunday (if not other days) routine. Seriously, was a great way to start the day. Anyway, more things to do. Nothing as ‘deep’ as what I wrote yesterday, but that’s okay too.

Until next time
~Q

Summer Series: Intro

Summer 2014

  1. Nap in a Hammock
  2. Have a Bonfire
  3. Play Sand Volleyball
  4. Visit an Iowa Winery
  5. Go to the Zoo
  6. Eat Sushi
  7. Go Stargazing
  8. Christmas in June
  9. Rainy Day Picnic
  10. Make a Summer Soundtrack
  11. Visit a Bed & Breakfast
  12. Ride a Carousel
  13. Go Camping
  14. Watch a Baseball Game
  15. Harry Potter Non-Stop Movie Marathon
  16. Radio Silence (no music, tv, computer or phone for 24 hours)
  17. Watch a Movie Outside
  18. Go Roller Blading
  19. Go to a Concert
  20. Go Wading
  21. Go Bowling
  22. Make Caramel Apples
  23. Meal Over a Fire
  24. Launch a Firecracker
  25. Urban Exploration
  26. Have a BBQ
  27. Make a Quilt
  28. Blow Bubbles on the Porch
  29. Play Bocce Ball
  30. Go People Watching
  31. Fill the Tank & Drive
  32. Make Wind Chimes
  33. Draw a Landscape
  34. Go Berry Picking
  35. Take a Weekend Trip Alone
  36. Paint a Canvas
  37. Do Yoga
  38. Make a Meal using only Farmer’s Market Food
  39. Spend the Afternoon on a Riverbank
  40. Watch a Sunrise
  41. Attend a Street Market
  42. Listen to Rock Music (from a different country)
  43. Picnic in the Park
  44. Start a Wish Tree
  45. See a Drive-In Movie
  46. Make Sangria
  47. Go for a Hike
  48. Go to a Fair
  49. Make a Banana Split
  50. Sketch Everyday
  51. Give to Others (donate old clothes to charity)
10 thoughts on “Week One of Summer

Leave a Reply

