Week Three of Summer

Although a bit late (which, for me, isn’t surprising) the third week of summer has come and gone! It was quite an eventful week indeed. My parents played host to my nephew which ended up taking some of my free time so I could spend time with everyone. With his visit I was able to incorporate some of my summer to do list!

One of the days of the past week I had Li’l squirt to myself and it was a jammed pack day. We started at McFarland Park walking along the paths, through the trees and along the pond. He exercised his imagination as he explained to me how we would retrieve the paper plate in the pond and then punish the person who had littered in the first place. Good to see the next generation taking such a keen interest in conservation.

BubblesWe went back to my place and began with coloring and lunch but quickly returned to the outdoors before the afternoon heat grew too great. We decided to blow bubbles on the porch and pop them. I had forgotten how fun it is to watch bubbles float in the breeze. As always, it is the little things in life. After awhile outside we made a quick stop at the playground before the beating sun drove us back home. That was fine with us, we decided to have a painting party.

Paint CanvasMy nephew, who is 3 1/2, did a phenomenal job at not getting paint everywhere. True, I put two special “paint shirts” on him (plastic grocery bags with holes cut in them for his arms and head) to help contain any messes. even then he didn’t get paint all over them either. It was one of those instances that the theory of painting was going to be fun but as soon as we started the reality of the situation I was worried. The worry was wasted though, because he did great and after all, it’s just paint.

PaintingThe rest of the day passed pleasantly. It was complete with more bubbles, another trip to the playground and some down time (made up of watching a movie while we calmly played with trucks). All in all a successful aunt-nephew day.

HaveBBQI was quite pleased when, later in week, my parents came to my place so I could grill for them. I was able to show the grill they got me for my birthday ‘in action’ and we all agreed it works quite well. Although it wont be the last time I use it this summer (and we didn’t have any BBQ) it was a great start to the BBQ/Grill season. Especially for a girl who isn’t the most knowledgeable about grilling….hence we had hotdogs.

After such a lot of family time during the week I spent about half the weekend alone working on my basement. We postponed most of our father’s day celebrations since my parents were delivering their grandchild back home on Sunday. I utilized my time and finished sanding, priming and first coating the bathroom. I also marathon listened to Mockingjay. It’s surprising how fast work time goes when you are off in another world.

Sketches_Week 3I continue to draw/sketch, often doing that instead of journaling. I’ll need to get back to writing too, but for now I’ll be sure to keep up this habit. I had forgotten how much fun it is to just doodle. To let go of the idea that, since I’m a designer, I should be creating works of art. I am not an artist (not that they can’t just doodle for fun too). Drawing (especially realistic drawing) has never been a strong suit. It’s been such a release to just enjoy the process and act of drawing and not worrying or caring what others think of the result. If people like it, that’s nice enough; if they hate it, that’s fair; if they couldn’t care less, they are not alone. I’m in it for the coloring.

Until next time
~Q

Summer Series: Intro | Week One | Week Two

Summer 2014

  1. Nap in a Hammock
  2. Have a Bonfire
  3. Play Sand Volleyball
  4. Visit an Iowa Winery
  5. Go to the Zoo
  6. Eat Sushi
  7. Go Stargazing
  8. Christmas in June
  9. Rainy Day Picnic
  10. Make a Summer Soundtrack
  11. Visit a Bed & Breakfast
  12. Ride a Carousel
  13. Go Camping
  14. Watch a Baseball Game
  15. Harry Potter Non-Stop Movie Marathon
  16. Radio Silence (no music, tv, computer or phone for 24 hours)
  17. Watch a Movie Outside
  18. Go Roller Blading
  19. Go to a Concert
  20. Go Wading
  21. Go Bowling
  22. Make Caramel Apples
  23. Meal Over a Fire
  24. Launch a Firecracker
  25. Urban Exploration
  26. Have a BBQ
  27. Make a Quilt
  28. Blow Bubbles on the Porch
  29. Play Bocce Ball
  30. Go People Watching
  31. Fill the Tank & Drive
  32. Make Wind Chimes
  33. Draw a Landscape
  34. Go Berry Picking
  35. Take a Weekend Trip Alone
  36. Paint a Canvas
  37. Do Yoga
  38. Make a Meal using only Farmer’s Market Food
  39. Spend the Afternoon on a Riverbank
  40. Watch a Sunrise
  41. Attend a Street Market
  42. Listen to Rock Music (from a different country)
  43. Picnic in the Park
  44. Start a Wish Tree
  45. See a Drive-In Movie
  46. Make Sangria
  47. Go for a Hike
  48. Go to a Fair
  49. Make a Banana Split
  50. Sketch Everyday
  51. Give to Others (donate old clothes to charity)
7 thoughts on “Week Three of Summer

Leave a Reply

