The Journey Continues…with a 6 AM workout.

Let me tell you how much I like hearing my alarm go off at 5:10 in the morning. NOT. AT. ALL. Then again at 5:19 and again at 5:28 at which point I decided I couldn’t put off the inevitable any longer. Rolling out of bed the lights were far too far away so I decided to just fumble in the dark. I had already laid everything out the night before: workout clothes – check, post-workout bag – check. After getting dressed I grabbed a smoothie I had also made the night before and with a little toast I was out the door and on my way to the gym.

Wednesday, October 22

Today’s coincidental reminder. I CAN get up early to workout and I WILL.

I had been telling myself the entire time I was getting things situated the night before that it wasn’t going to be fun. That I would be too tired and it would hurt because my body wasn’t quite awake yet. Was I wrong? Of course I was. (Getting my mind on board to the notion will make it easier in the long run I’m guessing) Was it a cloud of rainbows and unicorns fun? Well, no, but what outside of Care Bears and Rainbow Brite is? It wasn’t bad at all. In fact, I was sad I didn’t have time for a full hour, limiting myself to just cycling. Tomorrow, dare I say it, I might get up a pinch earlier (or get out the door sooner) to ensure I have time to cycle and elliptical. My coordination wasn’t ready for the latter when I arrived at the gym this particular morning, but after the bike ‘warm-up’ it could work. We’ll certainly see. Now if my energy will hold throughout the day then I’ll have a well-made match.

Why am I doing the morning workouts? I think I need to do it before my brain has really put together what it’s doing (since it’s being slow on the healthy lifestyle uptake). If I wait until after work I have too much time to give myself reasons not to go. (I really need to start the laundry, there is a lot of detail painting left to do in the basement, I need to stay late to get a couple more projects done, etc etc). By taking the bull by the horns and just doing it I feel pretty good. It will start to feel even better as I push myself to meet my potential (despite not feeling ready in the morning). After all, I am a morning person, just need to recalibrate my days to start a pinch earlier.

Until next time
~ Q

Daily Reminders - Week 2

Daily Reminders – Week 2

Leave a Reply

