New Year, new beginnings, that’s how it works, right?

See? Just chilling at home

See? Just chilling at home

As I sit at home, drinking coffee and relaxing on my day off, I can’t help but wonder what the year will hold. I know, earth shattering, right? No matter, as I muse over what resolutions to make this year, if any, I recall my last year. What things did I enjoy about the past year? Both special and everyday.

For instance some special things:

  • traveling to San Francisco with my buddy Allie
  • the backyard camping experiment with my family
  • the boarder line fiasco that was camping with my friends (there were broken bones – shockingly none of which were mine – and an ER visit)

and everyday things

  • playing volleyball
  • randomly joining a bowling league
  • literary adventures (aka reading)
  • creative writing
  • crafting

So what to resolve? The blatantly obvious like lose 15 pounds or travel more (both great goals but I’m already working on one and the other is too vague). Again, where does that leave me? Well, I suppose it wouldn’t hurt to, once again, make some resolutions. All of which will be quantifiable, because otherwise its too easy to argue the point one way or another.

  1. read 3 non-fiction books in all likelihood these will be autobiographies by comedians (Have you read Bossy Pants because you really should) because they are amusing
  2. write 150 blog entries this comes down to, roughly, 3 posts a week between this or my free writing blog
  3. get healthy I know, vague, but as I wrote back in October I’m waiting until the end to reveal my goal – I allowed myself to be set back for the last couple of months with the holidays, but that just means i need to hit it hard for the next couple of months to get back on track
  4. spend 5 weekends out of state that’s one way to define ‘travel more’ – right?
  5. learn a new skill okay this is the least quantifiable one on the list but I haven’t settled on what that skill should be, but I am anxious to try some things out. Will it be archery, I did always like the unit in PE, long bow of course, not compound? Knots? Knife throwing? Wow – those all seem awfully Hunger Games-esq which isn’t necessarily bad but stepping outside of that mind set I’ll add ‘sight reading music’ or ‘learn to play an instrument’ to other things in the mix for my new skill

So that’s it, five resolutions for 2015 that come to mind as I sit here. Not sure what my future holds, but rather than obsessively trying to dictate it by making too many bound-to-fail promises to myself, we’ll try staring with these.

So how about you? Are you the type to make resolutions? If so, what are yours for this year? I hope you have a wonderful New Year and I look forward to sharing mine with you over the coming weeks.

Until next time
~ Q