LOEB: Patriotic pop culture

Let me start this post off with the admission that I’ve never really gone all out for the Fourth. It just wasn’t a very big holiday celebration in my family. We usually go all out for Thanksgiving instead, complete with having a house full (20+) of adults for an extended weekend. Intense. In fact I think I’ve only seen fireworks on the Fourth a handful of times. One of the more memorable times was when we took a class trip to Philly and we saw fireworks back-to-back nights. The first time was on the 4th and was about an hour after arriving to the city. We threw our bags into the hotel room and ran out into a street that had been blocked off for pedestrians. I was a freshmen in high school and it was the first time I saw someone smoking marijuana in public. An eye opener for all of us from small town Iowa, to quote Dorothy we weren’t in Kansas anymore. The following night we went to a baseball game and saw one of the best fireworks displays I’ve seen in my life. So back to back nights of memorable fireworks. All of this being said, I know I’m not the most patriotic person in the world so this topic is a bit tricky for me.

This week’s topic question: What movie, TV show, comic book, etc makes you want to stand up and salute Old Glory? My answer: Independence Day I suppose. I’m not sure what it is about this movie, and I’m sure if I thought about it there are other movies and things that are more patriotic but this was the first thing that came to mind.

There is just something about the speech by  Bill Pullman’s character that I love? “…the largest aerial battle in the history of mankind. ‘Mankind.’ That word should have new meaning for us today. We can’t be consumed by our petty  differences anymore. We will be united in our common interests. Perhaps it’s fate that today is the Fourth of July, and you will once again be fighting for our freedom…Not from tyranny, oppression or persecution… but from annihilation? We are fighting for our right to live. To exist? And should we win the day, the Fourth of July will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the world declared in one voice: ‘We will not go quietly in the night!” We will not vanish without a fight! We’re going to live on! We’re going to survive!  Today we celebrate out Independence Day!”

How can you not get revved up after a monologue like that? Then the science geek and the BA soldier discovering a secret to destroy the invaders. And the crazy guy getting his redemption in the end. Love it.

So that’s it for this week’s topic. Until next time – Q

Also to explain LOEB. It’s the ‘League of Extraordinary Bloggers’ and every week they post a topic for discussion/consideration. They post the topic on Mondays, posts regarding that topic need to be up on Sunday if you want yours included in the weekly round up. A fast explanation, but there you have it. This is my first week so we’ll see how it goes and how long I can keep it up.

 

Update: It’s Monday and that means submission’s are in. Here is a sampling of what I’ve browsed so far

2 thoughts on “LOEB: Patriotic pop culture

Leave a Reply

