LOEB (late entry): Cowboys

There are several things that come to mind when given ‘cowboys’.

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid for starters.

“Boy, I got vision, and the rest of the world wears bifocals.” I haven’t seen this movie since I was a kid, and that’s a shame because these two actors are brilliant, especially when paired together (for further example watch The Sting). Who can forget the iconic cliff jump that the two endure together?

Bravestar.

This is a show that was introduced to me last year when I was randomly channel surfing for bearable cartoons one Saturday morning (no offense Yu-Gi-Oh! just not my cup of tea) and fell in love with it’s ridiculousness. I too wish I had the powers of Hawk Wolf Puma and Bear. Also, a talking horse that could randomly walk upright. That’d be something to see.

Firefly.

“Well, they tell ya, ‘Never hit a man with a closed fist.’ But it is, on occasion, hilarious.” Continuing with space cowboys, I loved Joss Whedon’s firefly. I was quite sad (like so many others) when it was discontinued after one season. Whedon’s ability to develop endearingly flawed and believable characters for so many different stories is amazing. Also probably why he is doing what he does.

Wayne_EastwoodOf course no cowboy post would be complete with out these two: John Wayne and Clint Eastwood. Like Cassidy & Sundance I haven’t seen their movies since I was a kid, but the echos of their coarse voices and manly ways still exist in the back of my memory. They were a man’s man, and quintessential examples of cowboys. Both back in the day and today. These two can never be replaced (which is why the remade True Grit, although good, will never overtake the original).

Wrapping up with one last memory: Paladin or Have Gun Will Travel. I’ve mentioned before that my dad had old time radio tapes. These were broadcasts from the 40s (as evident by the commercials advertising for people to buy war bonds or that the presentation ‘will be transmitted to our men and women overseas by shortwave’) and have endured the test of time. 40 years later and I, as a kindergartner and younger, was listening to the tales of the Gunslinger Paladin. A California based cowboy who would go out in the country side doing good on his terms (you can check it out on the Old Time Radion Network: http://www.otr.net/?p=hgwt).

That’s it, gut reactions to the given ‘cowboys’. There were lots of fantastic entries from the league. For the complete list check out the main wrap-up post here, some of my particular favorites were ShezCrafti, Rediscover the 80s, Flashlights are Something to Eat, and Goodwill Hunting 4 Geeks (purely for a Twinkie dressed up as a cowboy).

2 thoughts on “LOEB (late entry): Cowboys

Leave a Reply

